Compensation at Shine Lawyers Compensation at Shine Lawyers

Board of directors

Graham Bradley AM

Graham Bradley AM

BA, LLB (Hons 1), LL.M (Harvard), FAICD
Independent Chairman and Non-Executive Director

Graham is an experienced company director and chairman. He is currently Chairman of Virgin Australia International Holdings Pty Ltd, Infrastructure NSW, Waveconn Group Holdings Management Pty Limited and Symphony Infrastructure Partners Pty Limited and a Director of Tennis Australia.

Graham’s previous roles include Managing Director of Perpetual Limited, National Managing Partner and CEO of Blake Dawson (now Ashurst), a senior role at McKinsey & Company, Chairman of Stockland Corporation Limited, Chairman of HSBC Australia Limited and Director of The Hongkong & Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited, Chairman of United Malt Group Limited, Chairman of EnergyAustralia Holdings Ltd and Volt Corporation Limited and its subsidiaries (including Volt Bank Limited), President of the Business Council of Australia and Deputy President of the Takeovers Panel.


Teresa Dyson

BA, LLB (Hons), MTax, MAppFin, FAICD
Non-Executive Director

Teresa is an experienced company director, whose career has spanned both the public and private sectors. Teresa is an admitted lawyer and has previously been a partner at a global law firm and professional services firm.

Teresa is currently a Director and Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee of Seven West Media Limited, Director and Chair of the Audit & Risk Management Committee of Genex Power Limited, Director of Entyr Limited, Brighter Super (formerly LGIAsuper), Energy Queensland, Gold Coast Hospital and Health Board, and the Foundation for Alcohol Research and Education and a member of the Takeovers Panel. Teresa is a former Director of UN Women National Committee Australia Ltd, Opera Queensland and National Housing Finance and Investment Corporation, a former Chair of each of the Board of Taxation and the Business Law Section of the Law Council of Australia and a former member of the Foreign Investment Review Board.


David Bayes

Non-Executive Director

David is a Director and former Chairman of Plarre Foods Pty Ltd (trading as Ferguson Plarre Bakehouses) and a Non-executive Director of Barker Trailers Pty Ltd. He has previously held a variety of board and executive positions, including Non-executive Director of Sigma Healthcare Limited, Chief Executive Officer of Choice Hotels Australasia, Chief Operating Officer of Mortgage Choice Limited, Chief Executive Officer and Director of Bakers Delight, Non-executive Director of Chiquita Brands South Pacific Ltd and North Western Healthcare Network and Vice President and Director of McDonald’s Australia.

David is a former Director of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD) and past President of the Victoria Council of the AICD.

David has over 40 years’ experience in multi-outlet retail business.


Rod Douglas

Non-Executive Director

Rod is an experienced company director with a specialisation in working with owner led businesses over the last 30 years. He focuses strongly on culture, strategy and organisational value through a governance lens. Rod’s broad experience covers property, financial services, professional services, agriculture, retail and marketing. He is Chairman of Plarre Foods Pty Ltd (trading as Ferguson Plarre Bakehouses), a director of a number of private companies, and chairs the advisory board for two significant family businesses.

Rod holds a Master of Business Administration from Bond University, is a Foundation Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and is a Vincent Fairfax Fellow in Ethical Leadership.


Simon Morrison

Managing Director & CEO

Simon became the Managing Director of Shine in 2012, after joining Shine Lawyers in 1988 and becoming a partner of the firm in 1995.

Simon is a former National President of the Australian Lawyers’ Alliance (ALA), chaired the ALA’s National Workers Compensation Special Interest Group and sits on the Board of Governors of the American Association of Justice. Simon has particular expertise in and is an acknowledged leader in workers’ compensation and is a Queensland Law Society Accredited Specialist in personal injury law. He has given evidence at numerous government inquiries, has assisted in drafting legislation and is a regular speaker at national and state conferences in this field.

Simon contributes skills and expertise to the Board including executive management of a listed company, strategy, industry experience, strategic marketing and policy, regulation and stakeholder management.

Simon is Shine’s Managing Director & CEO. He has a standing invitation to attend meetings of the Audit & Risk Management and Nomination and Remuneration Committees, but does not participate in any discussions in relation to his own remuneration.

Company Secretary

Annette O'Hara

Annette O'Hara

BA, LLB (Hons 1), LLM, FGIA, GradDip ACGRM, FCG
Company Secretary & General Counsel

Annette joined the Group in August 2016 as Senior Legal Counsel and was appointed General Counsel and Company Secretary in February 2017. Previously, Annette had extensive experience as a senior corporate lawyer at national law firm Corrs Chambers Westgarth, advising a wide range of listed and unlisted companies in relation to regulatory, governance and general commercial matters. Annette was named Company Secretary of the Year in the 2022 Australian Law Awards and in the 2022 Women in Law Awards.